Cyrus Chestnut Trio
  • < April 2017 >

    Performance Count:

    S
    M
    T
    W
    T
    F
    S
    26
    X

    Sun, Mar 26, 2017

    No events scheduled
    27
    X

    Mon, Mar 27, 2017

    No events scheduled
    28
    X

    Tue, Mar 28, 2017

    No events scheduled
    29
    X

    Wed, Mar 29, 2017

    No events scheduled
    30
    X

    Thu, Mar 30, 2017

    No events scheduled
    31
    X

    Fri, Mar 31, 2017

    No events scheduled
    1
    X

    Sat, Apr 01, 2017

    No events scheduled
    2
    X

    Sun, Apr 02, 2017

    No events scheduled
    3
    X

    Mon, Apr 03, 2017

    No events scheduled
    4
    X

    Tue, Apr 04, 2017

    No events scheduled
    5
    X

    Wed, Apr 05, 2017

    No events scheduled
    6
    X

    Thu, Apr 06, 2017

    No events scheduled
    7
    X

    Fri, Apr 07, 2017

    No events scheduled
    8
    X

    Sat, Apr 08, 2017

    No events scheduled
    9
    X

    Sun, Apr 09, 2017

    No events scheduled
    10
    X

    Mon, Apr 10, 2017

    No events scheduled
    11
    X

    Tue, Apr 11, 2017

    No events scheduled
    12
    X

    Wed, Apr 12, 2017

    No events scheduled
    13
    X

    Thu, Apr 13, 2017

    No events scheduled
    14
    X

    Fri, Apr 14, 2017

    No events scheduled
    15
    X

    Sat, Apr 15, 2017

    No events scheduled
    16
    X

    Sun, Apr 16, 2017

    No events scheduled
    17
    X

    Mon, Apr 17, 2017

    No events scheduled
    18
    X

    Tue, Apr 18, 2017

    No events scheduled
    19
    X

    Wed, Apr 19, 2017

    No events scheduled
    20
    X

    Thu, Apr 20, 2017

    No events scheduled
    21
    X

    Fri, Apr 21, 2017

    No events scheduled
    22
    X

    Sat, Apr 22, 2017

    No events scheduled
    23
    X

    Sun, Apr 23, 2017

    No events scheduled
    24
    X

    Mon, Apr 24, 2017

    No events scheduled
    25
    X

    Tue, Apr 25, 2017

    No events scheduled
    26
    X1 Events

    Wed, Apr 26, 2017

    28
    X2 Events

    Fri, Apr 28, 2017

Event Details

Cyrus Chestnut Trio


Pianist Cyrus Chestnut appeals to both aficionados and fans alike. Adept enough to perform with Wynton Marsalis, yet hip enough to make the "Peanuts" album swing. Chestnut worked with a number of top-notch musicians including Jon Hendricks, Betty Carter, Terence Blanchard, and Donald Harrison, before recording his first solo CD at the age of 30. Chestnut enjoys mixing styles and resists being typecast in any of niche, though his gospel sound is aparent on a number of his recordings.

"The pianist Cyrus Chestnut is one of jazz's most convincing anachronisms. His brand of crisp articulation and blues-inflected harmony evokes another era, sometime before the ascent of Bill Evans and McCoy Tyner, to say nothing of Herbie Hancock and Keith Jarrett. But unlike the typical nostalgist, who pines for the past partly because of a queasy discomfort with the present, Mr. Chestnut appears comfortable with his placement in time. What makes his music fly is a complete security in his style, and that sense of untroubled self-assurance." - New York Times

Venue:
Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts
SEI Innovation Studio

300 South Broad Street
Philadelphia, PA 19102


Kimmel Center Presents

Dates:

Credits:

  • PLAN YOUR VISIT

    Visit our Venues for information about:

     

    Maps, Directions and Parking
    Dining and Hotels

     

    Learn More